More Than One Thing

A 11 track downtempo album (39m 2s) — released December 13th 2019 on Wah Wah 45s

Wah Wah 45s are very proud to announce the release of the debut album from forward-thinking Tel Aviv based ensemble, Time Grove. Guided by acclaimed pianist Nitai Hershkovits alongside one third of Buttering Trio, and newly signed Stones Throw recording artist, Rejoicer, this group of musicians have produced a sound which is both delicate yet powerful; sonorous yet uplifting. The full line-up also features reed player Eyal Talmudi, drummers Roy Chen, Amir Bresler and Sol Monk, keyboard master Bemet, trumpeter Sefi Zisling, and guitarist Yonatan Albalak who have together created some of the most exciting instrumental music we've heard for quite a while!

More Than One Thing follows on from the double A-side jukebox 45 taster Roy The King / Sir Blunt, which was released in October 2018 and received much love from Huey Morgan on BBC 6Music, Tim Garcia on Jazz FM and Tina Edwards on Worldwide FM, amongst others.

From the somewhat spooky horn and piano lines on the mysterious opener, TG Theme, to the lighter, more idyllic sounds of Second Attention, it's clear that the nine talents at work on this album are set to deliver a full range of emotions through their well honed instruments and convey a truly unique instrumental set with a twist.

The very catchy Jungle Bourgois sets Talmudi and Zisling's euphoric horns set against Sol Monk's frenetic drumming one moment, then the next the listener is transported through time and across continents by special guest Itzhak Ventura's Egyptian flute, or ney, on the gorgeous Indopia, whilst all the while Rejoicer's synths provide a swirling undercurrent of subtle modern day electronica.

Piano Bubbles sees Hershkovits' trademark instrument trade notes with Talmudi's flute, whilst all the while Rejoicer's frothy backdrop provides texture and warmth. The aforementioned Sir Blunt and Roy The King, with its festive finale, also make room for the meditative Talek, the boundary pushing, synth driven Nezah and an album highlight, the childlike waltz of A.L.P. The album concludes with the suitably serene Latrun, a celebration of Rejoicer's synths, Hershkovits' piano and the horn section in perfect harmony, bringing something of a sublime conclusion to this most life affirming of long-players.

More Than One Thing, is released on January 25th 2019. Look out for live shows from Time Grove across Europe in the spring.

Quality music! - Mark Futuresounds, DJ Magazine

Favourite record of the year so far! - Hector Plimmer NTS Radio, Albert’s Favourites

Fabulous musicianship and compositions – great addition to the WahWah stable. - Dan Deep Tenor City

Cool! - Erica McCoy Worldwide FM

LOVELY!!! - Rebecca Vasmant Worldwide FM, BBC Scotland

As expected, a superb album. 10/10 - Doctor Best Radio Z 95.8 Nuernberg

Best New Jazz album! - Chris Exarchopoulos Black Radio Berlin

This album from ‘Time Grove is laced with enchanting jazz sounds, providing a real treat for my ears, looking forward to hearing what my listeners think, essential business for me!! - Multi Storey Soul Radio Show RTE Pulse Dublin

Great stuff! - Martijn Barkhuis Jazzrdeville, Amsterdam

Lovely vibes here. - Alex Attias Radio Couleur Switzerland

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.